The Billy Coleman Award - for the Young Rally Driver of the Year(View Previous Winners)

The Billy Coleman Award was created in the year 2000 to help young Irish rally drivers take the next step into international rallying and emulate the achievements of the great Billy Coleman.

The first recipient of the award, Rory Galligan, certainly fulfilled that ambition and competed as a works driver for Peugeot and Mitsubishi. Subsequent winners have continued that success, including 5 British Rally Championship titles and Junior World Rally Championship successes.

Sport Ireland fully recognises motorsport and are a partner in the award scheme ensuring a much improved package and giving the award higher status. The clubs running rallies under a national permit also contribute to the initiative.

All press releases relevant to the Billy Coleman Award will be published in the news section below but you will find much more content on the official Billy Coleman Award Facebook page.


> All news

Jenna McCann nominated for Young Rally Driver of the Year - September-October 2017 Nomination

Jenna McCann in action

Jenna McCann has been nominated for this year’s Motorsport Ireland Billy Coleman Young Rally Driver Award for her performances in September and October.

The 22 year-old from Ballyjamesduff, Co Cavan, drove her Ford Fiesta R2 to victory in the Junior section of the Cork 20 International, which clinched the Junior title in the Clonakilty Blackpudding Irish Tarmac Rally Championship.

Earlier in the year, Jenna scored a string of good results in the Junior section of the series to place her in a strong position for the title, and her victory in the final round, the highlight of her year, left her well ahead of her closest rival.

Jenna has just returned from last weekend’s Condroz Rally in Belgium, which was linked to her Junior Tarmac success, and she found the two-day event on slippery tarmac roads to be her most challenging rally to date, with the varying conditions making things very difficult. She is very pleased to have completed her first continental European outing without any major dramas.

She began rallying in early 2015 in a Peugeot 106, having previously acted as co-driver for her father, and she won the Group R Cup in the Triton Showers National Rally Championship.

Jenna is a Social Care worker, and would like to contest next year’s Irish Forestry Championship, as well as a couple of rounds of the British Rally series. Her principal sponsors are APlus Skip Hire, Euro Oil, J & G Haulage (Cavan), and Hydraseals Hose and Bearings Ltd.

Jenna joins with the four other bi-monthly winners selected from January-February, through to July-August, along with the highest placed eligible drivers from both the Junior Championship in the Triton Showers National series and the Junior category in the Valvoline National Forestry Championship, and a wildcard selection, as the award finalists.

The winner of the Motorsport Ireland Billy Coleman Young Rally Driver of the Year Award receives €50,000 worth of support to contest stage rallies nationally & internationally in 2018 along with the support of Billy Coleman co-ordinator, Ger Healy, while the two runners-up will receive free entries into a number of MI permitted events in 2018, along with co-ordinator support.

Keep up with Motorsport Ireland News

Calendar Of Events

Upcoming Fixtures