Overseas News

> All news

FIA European Rallycross Championship 2013 – Round 6 – Höljes, Sweden – July 6-7

(Höljes) – Derek Tohill from Dublin in Ireland scored his second victory of the season by winning the TouringCar final during the sixth round of the FIA European Rallycross Championship – RallycrossRX – at Höljes in Sweden (July 6-7). The PartsforCars.ie supported driver extends his championship lead with three more events to come.

Derek Tohill in action

On Saturday evening he got classified second after setting a fourth and second fastest time in the first day qualification heats. Things improved on Sunday for the Dubliner as he drove to the fastest times in both of the remaining heats. “I struggled with the starts on Saturday”, Tohill said. “I was not able to find the correct set-up. However, after the warm-up session on Sunday morning we found a better set-up and with two good starts I was able to set fastest times."

The success continued in the rest of the event. After he won the so-called intermediate classification he scored a clear start-to-finish victory in the semi-final allowing him to start the all decisive final from pole position. The semi-final story was repeated during the final as it was led by the Irishman once more from start to finish.

“This is absolutely amazing! Winning here at Höljes gives you almost a better feeling then winning the championship. This is like something where you work all your life for,” said a very happy Derek Tohill after the final.

The next event for Derek Tohill and the team is the French round of the 2013 RallycrossRX series taking place at Lohéac on August 31-September 1.


Celebration time !

TouringCar – 6 laps: 1. Derek Tohill (IRL), Ford Fiesta Mk7 RWD; 2. Daniel Lundhl (S), Volvo C30 RWD; 3. Roman Castoral (CZ), Opel Astra G RWD; 4. Tom Daniel Taanevik (N), Mazda RX-8; 5. Robin Larsson (S), Skoda Fabia Mk1 RWD; 6. Torleif Lona (N), Ford Fiesta Mk7 RWD; etc.

Championship (6/9): 1. Derek Tohill (IRL) 134; 2. Roman Castoral (CZ) 113; 3. Robin Larsson (S) 98; 4. Koen Pauwels (B) 98; 5. Daniel Lundh (S) 90; 6. David Nordgaard (N) 85; etc.

Keep up with Motorsport Ireland News

Calendar Of Events

Upcoming Fixtures