Sylvie Mullins takes prestigious Leinster Trophy win


Longstanding Galway Motor Club member, Sylvie Mullins from Ballyvaughan, Co. Clare, won the prestigious Leinster Trophy race on Saturday last at Kirkistown racetrack in Co. Down. What makes this victory even more special is that Sylvie joins a roll of honour that includes past Formula 1 world champions Ayrton Senna and Mika Hakkinen.

Sylvie races his 650bhp Judd Engined Gould GR37 in the Big Open Single Seater (BOSS) Class and has been fighting for the trophy over the past six years. Despite some mechanical gremlins including a broken clutch pedal and running without third gear for the majority of the race, he managed to take victory, edging out Jonathan Fildes and Aaron Gaughran. Despite his transmission issues, Mullins’ winning average race speed was 97.38 mph.

Sylvie also becomes the 30th driver to record multiple podium positions at the Leinster Trophy with his victory in 2021 alongside his third place in 2020. Sylvie’s victory was the 32nd for a driver from the Republic of Ireland. Sylvie would like to give major credit to his crew; Cillian Connole from Ballyvaughan, Patrick Curley from Gort and Aiden Connolly Ballyvaughan who keep the car in excellent condition and keep it going from event to event.

Next up for Sylvie is the penultimate race meeting at Mondello Park, Nass, Co. Kildare on Sunday September 12th where he will be pushing on from his victory last weekend with the target of winning the overall BOSS championship. 

Keep up with Motorsport Ireland News: Become a MI-Member

Sign-up as a MI-Member to subscribe to our mailing list and get the latest news, updates and exclusive offers from Motorsport Ireland.

For information on how we use your data, view our Data Protection Policy.