Champions pictured at the ceremony: Josh Moffett (left) and his navigator Keith Moriarty (right)

Having become the seventh driver to win the National Rally Championship on two occasions, Monaghan’s Josh Moffett (30) has set his sights on equalling the three titles won by his fellow countyman Niall Maguire and Donegal’s Declan Boyle.
On Saturday night last at the awards ceremony for the Triton Showers National Rally Championship at the Sheraton Hotel in Athlone, he received the Vard Memorial Trophy from Shauna Barrett (Triton Showers) and his Limerick co-driver Keith Moriarty was presented with the Noel Smith Trophy by Niamh Barrett.

During the evening, it was confirmed that Triton Showers will continue to support the series that will again comprise of eight rounds beginning with the Longford based Midland Rally on March 5th next and concluding with the Bantry based Fastnet Rally on October 29th. 
Speaking about his success Moffett (30) said, “It’s been a good year for us, but it was by no means easy.”  His Hyundai i20 R5 never missed a beat and he thanked Tom Gahan Motorsport for his work.  “Tom and the boys did a great job and we have all made it (car) work really well on Irish tarmac.”  Interestingly, Josh had no real difficulty in identifying the toughest of his six victories.  “That was my home event in Monaghan.  Sam (his brother) competed that day and he made it more challenging.  It’s nice competing against anyone, but against your brother it’s special.” 
On the possibility of equalling the triple wins of Maguire and Boyle, he said, “I’m only thirty now and I feel I have the capacity to win it another few times.  Obviously, you never know who comes to the table but we are certainly at the top of our game at the minute.”  He also stated that he’s made no decision yet about upgrading his current car.  “I have great relationships with both Hyundai Motorsport and M-Sport and we will be talking to them for sure.”
Swords driver Robert Barrable and Donegal’s Paddy Robinson were second overall in the series and Armagh’s Darren Gass and Donegal’s Dean O’Sullivan (co-driver with Monaghan’s Michael Carbin) finished third overall.
Aside from all the various class awards, special awards were presented as follows: 
Micky Farrell Award: Wexford’s Tomas O'Rourke (Mitsubishi EvoIX).
National Mk2 Champions: Limerick’s Edward O'Callaghan and Ronan Comerford (co-driver with Ryan McArdle) .
Dougie Hughes National Rally Junior Champions: Cahir’s Joe Browne and Jack Shealy (Honda Civic).
Ladies Award: Mayo’s Ruthann O'Connor (Toyota Corolla).
National Group N Champions: Wexford’s Tomas O'Rourke and Tomas Scallon (Mitsubishi EvoIX). 
Triton Showers Group R National Champions: Maynooth’s Paul Barrett and Cavan’s Kevin Reilly.
National Two-Wheel Drive Champions: Armagh’s Jason Black and Galway’s Karl Egan (Toyota Starlet) 
The 2023 Triton Showers National Rally Championship will consist of the following events: 1. Midland Rally (March 5th); 2. Circuit of Kerry (April 2nd); 3. Cavan Rally (May 28th); 4. Raven’s Rock (Waterford) Rally (July 2nd); 5. Sligo Rally (July 16th); 6. ALMC Rally (Oldcastle)  (August 13th);  7. Clare Rally (September 24th); 8. Fastnet Rally (October 29th).   
Ritchie’s Mints and Projob Workwear are associate sponsors of the 2022 Triton Showers-backed Motorsport Ireland Rally Championship.

Keep up with Motorsport Ireland News: Become a MI-Member

Sign-up as a MI-Member to subscribe to our mailing list and get the latest news, updates and exclusive offers from Motorsport Ireland.

For information on how we use your data, view our Data Protection Policy.