2023 Sexton Trophy Young Racing Driver of the Year Award Nominees Named

The 2023 Sexton Trophy Young Racing Driver of the Year award nominees have been chosen. Hailing from all parts of Ireland, the seven finalists represent the best up-and-coming talent in circuit racing.

The seven nominees are:
Jack Byrne
Kayleigh Cole 
Ronan Doherty
Max Hart 
Logan Hoey
Brandon McCaughan
Kian O'Brien

Co. Wexford’s Jack Byrne (20) was a finalist for this award in 2021 and 2022 and is no stranger to this process. Coming off back to back successful years racing Minis in the UK, Byrne is hoping that the third time is a charm for the Sexton Trophy.

Kayleigh Cole (20), Co. Cork, returned again to the the F1000 series in the UK alongside a strong Irish Formula BOSS campaign that saw her net the Class 3 title.  

Ronan Doherty (20) is a new face from Co. Antrim and is sampling just his first season in racing, but had an impressive year in Formula Vee netting eight wins in 2023. 

Max Hart (22) from Co. Wicklow is another of this year’s nominees who were finalists in 2021 and 2022. With a strong career in touring cars already brewing, Hart heads to Macau this week to compete on the famous Guia circuit.

Logan Hoey (14) is our youngest nominee, with less than one year of total experience on track, but is already making his mark with great results in the Patch Tyre Equipment Junior Mini Challenge. 

The second of our Antrim-based nominees is Brandon McCaughan (19), who drew the attention of the judges while consistenly competing at the front of the field in the UK's BRSCC National Formula Ford Championship.

The final nominee of 2023, Kian O'Brien (22) from Co. Louth, finished 2023 with a complete season in the Kirkistown Mini Cup in addition to a third-place finish in the Ford Fiesta ST240 Championship. 

After succeeding in the previous rounds of notable on-track success and written applications, the seven nominees will undertake a formal interview process next week with a panel of judges representing Motorsport Ireland, Sport Ireland, the Motorsport Ireland Race Commission and members of the media.

The Motorsport Ireland Young Racing Driver of the Year award and the historic Sexton Trophy are presented to the individual who has demonstrated the most potential to represent Ireland at home and internationally both on the track as well as in the public eye. The winner will receive a €50,000 support package to help develop their motor racing career.

The overall winner of the 2023 award will be announced on 06 December at the Crowne Hotel Plaza in Santry. The award is presented annually and is supported by Sport Ireland and Motorsport Ireland.

Keep up with Motorsport Ireland News: Become a MI-Member

Sign-up as a MI-Member to subscribe to our mailing list and get the latest news, updates and exclusive offers from Motorsport Ireland.

For information on how we use your data, view our Data Protection Policy.